Sunday Stash #180 – Bunny, On the Tree Top

Once upon a time, Grandma Sparkles sent me a Magic Suitcase full of fabric, including a treasure trove of what are now Tula Pink rarities. Funny story, that one. I had no idea what I had been given would become what it is now. For nearly four years, it has all been tucked away in the back of a closet like a time capsule waiting to be opened. Well that waiting is about to come to an end.

molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_180_02

If you’re new around here, you may not know that Grandma Sparkles is the best thing since the invention of the rotary blade. She raised me, inspired me to sew, and now lives her life as a single lady in Alabama, USA. She’s not rich, far from it, living on her social security benefits and the part time job she holds at a local kitchen gadget store. That was until she fell off a ladder about two weeks ago and broke her foot. She’s otherwise fine, and the woman knows how to rock a moon boot! However, her social security is now supplemented by worker’s compensation, which she tells me is about $100 per week. Wait, what, how?! As a meagre and steadfast woman, she’s refusing to allow me just to give her cash, so I’m going to do the next best thing. I’m going to sell the Tula Pink fabric she gave me years ago, and give her the proceeds. Consider this the Grandma Sparkles Relief Fund!

molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_180_01

Which brings me to this picture. I knew I had yards upon yards of Parisville, with some Prince Charming thrown in for good measure. But then I started searching my own stash, so that I could have a full on Tula Pink blowout sale. I re-discovered the few Acacia and Birds & the Bees fat quarters, the large selection of Saltwater that I never even touched, and even the bits of Nest left over from other projects. I knew they were all there. What I didn’t know, was that I would find a fat quarter of Hushabye in my stash! I have no idea where this came from, as I don’t remember buying it, nor can I find it in my Sunday Stash archive. It must be the Tula Pink fabric fairies! Anyway, this piece, along with many, many others, will be up for sale on Instagram at 11:00AM AEST, Sunday, June 19th, shipping internationally. More details to come, but fabric will be competitively market-priced, with the design to move it out to help Grandma Sparkles!

Sydney – 11:00AM, Sunday, June 19
Singapore – 9:00AM, Sunday, June 19
Bangkok – 8:00AM, Sunday, June 19
Mumbai – 6:30AM, Sunday, June 19
St. Petersburg – 4:00AM, Sunday, June 19
Paris – 3:00AM, Sunday, June 19
London – 2:00AM, Sunday, June 19
Rio de Janeiro – 10:00PM, Saturday, June 18
New York – 9:00PM, Saturday, June 18
Tulsa – 8:00PM, Saturday, June 18
Los Angeles – 6:00PM, Saturday, June 18
Honolulu – 3:00PM, Saturday, June 18

Make sure you are following me on Instagram (molli_sparkles) to see the latest teaser photos over the coming weeks. If you have thoughts about the type of cuts (fat quarters, half yards, etc.) that would be best, leave them in the comments below. However, no complaints about prices, your unavailability at the sale time, or that you dropped your phone in the toilet and I should use a different platform. My fabric, my rules (Molli says with love!) With over twenty pieces across twenty yards represented, this sale is going to be huge!

 Loading InLinkz ...

15 Responses

  1. mary says:

    So the prize for the loveliest grandson ever must go to you! Such a great way to help her out and feed others Tula obsession (I don’t have one so my blood pressure is just fine!).

  2. Pam says:

    I love bunnies. And Grandma Sparkles. I’m sad she is down, but not for long. She did a great job raising you.

  3. Cindy says:

    Grandma’s rock! I hope all of that Tula goodness raises gobs & gobs of money. So full circle this is. Love it!

  4. Susan says:

    She is the epitome of a Southern lady – through and through. She is beautiful and just from the picture, one can see grace and inner beauty as well. I shall keep both of you in my prayers for a great and miraculous healing for her. You, too, are marvelous to do what loving grandchildren do – come to the aid of others and especially family. I was raised in the South (barely) and I was taught that God comes first and right behind is family. You both are spreading goodwill with your story. A woman living on social security still working to supplement it (I can’t earn much or I lose my SS disability and I couldn’t work anyhow) and you returning love.

  5. Oooh Tula Pink! What a sale that’s going to be. Your Grandma Sparkles looks like a lovely lady, and she must be smart because she raised you well. I hope she’s feeling better soon. At least she doesn’t have to contend with that boot on snow or ice, not that Alabama gets much.

  6. She raised you right ♡

  7. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait for this event! Sending you hugs from New Hampshire for being the best grand son!

  8. Sarah O says:

    Oh no! Poor G’ma Sparkles!! I do hope you have whipped up a suitable moon boot cover for her to get about town in, if not, why not???!
    What a wonderful thing to do. Alas, I am still on my fabric fast so I shall watch in awe and look forward to the post sale post.
    Hugs to G’ma x

  9. April says:

    I think that FQ’s and half yards would be what most people would enjoy. Though some of your pieces are so rare that people may be willing to pay top dollar for yardage. Maybe you could reserve some yardage of certain prints for auction, and keep the rest as smaller cuts. Either way, I doubt I can afford the going market rate for these treasures, but I will still watch the destash and hope you can make some mad cash for your grandma. My grandma was an Alabama girl, too, and I know they’re one of a kind. Get well soon, Grandma Sparkles!

  10. I hope Grandma Sparkles bounces back quickly from this injury and I am sure that the masses are going to do their best to help support her; what an amazing destash! 🙂

  11. Tish says:

    Molli, I’m guessing that Grandma Sparkles is a pretty tough cookie, seeing that she was on a ladder in the first place. Makes me think of my grandmother. A lady you didn’t try to hold her back. What a great way to try to help her out while she is down. Hoping for speedy recovery for her.

  1. June 6, 2016

    […] Linking up with the Rainbow Rose QAL and Sunday Stash. […]

  2. June 12, 2016

    […] Relief Fund, Tula Pink blowout sale. If you missed the formal announcement, you can check it out here. I’ve been posting peeks on my Instagram, and thought I’d use this Sunday Stash to show […]

  3. June 19, 2016

    […] been harping on about for weeks, today I hosted my Tula Pink blowout sale on Instagram to aid the Grandma Sparkles Relief Fund. It was a smashing success! I’ve sent invoices to nearly everyone, and there are a few […]

  4. July 6, 2016

    […] who participated in, or shared the details of my recent Tula Pink destash sale to benefit the Grandma Sparkles Relief Fund. There were nearly twenty global purchasers, and the average sale price was $110 USD. The cheapest […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *